Honored Contributor

Just in case you think you can't change your life...

[ Edited ]

Or that manners, professionalism, and kindness won't get you very far in life, read on.

Some of you may know that I have been on a path to become a certified pharmacy technician.  It was all online (self-taught) and then I had the opportunity to do an externship with a local retail pharmacy which I am currently finishing up.

I have 4 (count them) 4 weeks of practical experience in the field and the district manager offered me a senior tech position today including teaching responsibilities  because he's heard such good things about me and the job I've done in one month.

And before some of you start, this is not a pat on the back post although I am very proud of myself as anyone would be.  I am actually turning this job down because it's for an area that is just too far for me to travel.  But I was asked and deemed worthy enough to invest in by this employer even though I am a baby in the craft.

My point is that if you ever think you are too old, you're not worth it, you can't do it, or that other people won't take notice of a good old fashioned showing up on time, putting your head down, learning your stuff, grinding through your mistakes and carrying on in a polite, professional manner, you can do it. 

There are employers and others who will take notice and reward your efforts even when others around you who have known you for years don't. I am still jobless in my new career but I have other opportunity and, more importantly, good references. 

Consider this a follow up to my New Year's post.  If you are unhappy, need to make a change, or scared about trying something new from a career change to health goals to finding a new way to spend your time, please do it.  It feels so good to have someone say "Wow, great job!"