Super Contributor

Re: Just curious...Occupation?

I am a lawyer. 

Trusted Contributor

Retired ..... Paralegal

Trusted Contributor

Moved to San Francisco after graduating UNLV and worked as a Sales Director for Holiday Inn.  After a couple of years it dawned on me that I didn't have the earning power to have the American dream in the Bay Area, so I married an attorney from Las Vegas and moved back.  He was a rather traditional male and preferred that I be a stay-at-home mother to our daughter.  After she finished college and left home, DH became ill and his illnesses multiplied; it became clear to me that I needed to brush up my skills, so I went to graduate school and finished just before he passed away.  I worked for a couple of years in business law before I met my now husband.  He was a doctor who wanted to get out of medical administration and go back to treating patients.  We got married and opened a medical practice together in which he treated patients and I managed the business and employees.  We hired a couple of nurses and therapists and did reasonably well until DH suffered a bad fall last year.  That accident opened the door to a near death experience and a long road to recovery for him, and forced us to close our practice and retire.  

It has been nearly a year now, and DH is slowly recovering, although he will probably not ever be completely well.  We paid off our house and settled in to a quiet life.  I'm happy to still have him and have time to pursue the many things I am interested in.

@BrandiDavis Education is never a waste.  You have a lot of years left to work, and you may just come across a new opportunity through your school.  Good luck to you👩‍🎓!

Frequent Contributor

I am a retired attorney. I thought I would miss working when I retired several years ago but absolutely love retirement.

Respected Contributor

@new nickname 4 wrote: