Valued Contributor

I got a summons for jury duty.   I swear, I get them all the time and people I know never do.   I got one once where it was a 4 mo. trial.  I couldn't serve because of my job.

You used to have to mail back the questionnaire.  Now, it's online.  I just don't remember them asking your birthdate, ethnic background, employed or not on the paper questionnaire.   

I thought jury duty was random and they get more detailed if you are called on a panel.   Now, it seems, they can pick you for a panel from the onset.

Anyone else have these questions.   The court is so far from me and I have an older car.  I'm afraid to drive down there.   I wouldn't mind doing my "duty" if it weren't such an ordeal to get there.   I'm a nervous driver and do not like driving in downtown (busy city) traffic.

Esteemed Contributor

I have been in my county for 33 years and have only been summoned to jury duty once, for a federal trial. I would love to be a professional juror! But I don't have to drive in metro traffic . . .

No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. - Aesop
Esteemed Contributor

@Frosted Cake wrote:

I got a summons for jury duty.   I swear, I get them all the time and people I know never do.   I got one once where it was a 4 mo. trial.  I couldn't serve because of my job.

You used to have to mail back the questionnaire.  Now, it's online.  I just don't remember them asking your birthdate, ethnic background, employed or not on the paper questionnaire.   

I thought jury duty was random and they get more detailed if you are called on a panel.   Now, it seems, they can pick you for a panel from the onset.

Anyone else have these questions.   The court is so far from me and I have an older car.  I'm afraid to drive down there.   I wouldn't mind doing my "duty" if it weren't such an ordeal to get there.   I'm a nervous driver and do not like driving in downtown (busy city) traffic.

--------------