Honored Contributor

Re: I wish people would think before they speak

(thread title only)

There are many people like myself that do not always have their mouth in the same gear as their brain. My belief is it happens to us all at some point in our longer lives, and I would question anyone that would say they have not been guilty of this at some point in their longer lives.

hckynut(john)

hckynut(john)
Respected Contributor

@FuzzyFace  Your post struck a chord with me.  First of all, my heart goes out to you, as I can relate.  I was born with a skin condition, as well.   I do agree with you that the individual could have asked you privately, if the question needed to be asked at all.

As a teacher, I am very sensitive to how my students treat one another and use my own experienes to foster an environment of acceptance in my classroom.

Thanks for sharing your story!

Panda

I'm not short...I'm fun size!
Valued Contributor

@FuzzyFaceI would respond " I have a medical condition and I don't appreciate your intrusive concern". Look the person directly in the eyes. 

Honored Contributor

With so much bully-ing going on now-a-days, it would be interesting to find out if the bullies' parents, years ago, taught/encouraged their very young youngsters the art of being kind, respectful, etc. 

Sometimes (not always) the parents themselves aren't very grateful, kind, respectful.

Years ago, I had noticed that when I gave a gift to a very young child, sometimes the parent wouldn't say 'Thank you'.

However, I do believe that things have changed.  Talking about in my neighborhood where there are many grandmothers who are caring for very young children.  As I have often said, they are training those very young children/toddlers, etc. to be very, very appreciative. 

So, I do believe that there are many/some children who have 'manners'. 

Well, again, just rambling on.