Valued Contributor

My 8 year old indoor only cat....grunted and fell  dead last week.  He was in perfect health...I thought. He had even got a clean bill of health  DAYS before.  He dies right in front of my special needs son (adult).  Diesel was his BEST friend.  We became hysterical.  He shouted to me cat was not moving...then he screamed ": ma  Diesles'dead". I tried to revive him to no avail.  I always thought of myself as a "dog person" but truthfully  I love all animals.  We are still in shock.  We have another cat who is confused.  he seems to be scenting  and looking for his big brother.  They used to  play all the time,Now mymarley-cat is jsutmoping. He does not even want to eat.  The Dr said his heart just stopped and sometimesthese things happen.  I am a nurse (retired) I know that.  I just am really steruggling with this.  I am somewhat agoraphobic...like my son.  I spend every day in the house  with my pets.  I have 10 year old dog, a lab mix.  Now I am paranoid she is going to leave me.  PLEASE  help me.......I am really worried i cannot move away from this.  I know I said a week but really tomorrow morning makes two weeks.  I just was able to eat a bit for the first time last night.  I am a mess...we are a mess.  My husband too is extremely sad.  Diesel was a large energy in this home...now we have a BIG hole.  DEVASTED........

Esteemed Contributor

Re: I lost my cat suddenly....

friend.jpg

Honored Contributor

I'm so sorry for your families loss. It's very hard to lose a pet.  It takes time. Sounds like something just went suddenly wrong.  There's no explanation for those rare things that happen.  You'll remember your pet always. My best to you all.

Honored Contributor

I think you should see a Dr or some type of therapist. You might need some meds ,to help you through  the next while. A loss is a loss , and it has upset all of you, to a big degree ,so ,don't think it isn't important enough to seek help