Honored Contributor

Families, when I was a kid, seemed to be more inclined, to do their civic duty, and be  good neighbor , than they are now. They also did it without moaning and whingeing about it

What a nation of spoiled brats we seem to have become

Honored Contributor

Re: I guess my age is showing

[ Edited ]

Very true!  I remember, in elementary school, being graded for citizenship.  Times have surely changed. 

Honored Contributor

Amen! And it's because we wanted them to not have it as rough as we did.  What were we thinking?  LOL

Fate whispers to her, "You cannot withstand the storm." She whispers back, "I am the storm."

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

I saw things changing immensly once self esteem became the top priority for the young ones. 3 in my family were school teachers and every one of them quit and changed professions.

I was a referee in Youth Hockey and a few years after this nonsense about self esteem became more important than the game itself? The kids changed as did their respect for authority in the games.

They were "owed" a trophy win or lose. A few years after this "revilation" took hold, I decided to referee Adult Only hockey games only. Youth Hockey kids and their parents were more than I  wanted to deal with in something I previously really enjoyed.

hckynut(john)
Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

Yes, I know mine is showing a lot lately!  But, if you promise not to tell anyone, I'll tell you that some of our schools still have citienship awards.  Not everyone in the class gets an award, but then we are behind the times here.  

If you grew up during WWII you would really understand what citizenship and love of country mean. Sadly, those days seem to be gone forever.  A bigger loss than many have yet to realize.

Esteemed Contributor