Trusted Contributor

I did something today that I have never done before ...

[ Edited ]

I retired in June after working for 12 years as Secretary to a high school Principal.  Prior to that I worked 30 years in corporate, until our company moved to Illinois.  I started there when I was 19, right out of secretarial school.

In my job as HS secretary, I assigned substitutes to fill in for teachers who were out.  This could be ill, personal day, meetings, conferences, etc.  There were days that more teachers were out than subs, but I always managed to get it to work.  Like doing a puzzle!

I've been filling in for the secretary to an Assistant Principal in a local school district.  The secretary covers teachers' absences.  I can do this I thought.  They use the system AESOP, which I never used before, but had to learn pretty quickly.  To me there is no accountability, no need to let the secretary know beforehand of their absence.  I don't really like it, my teachers in my old job always gave me advance notice, unless of course, last minute emergencies.

Where I am now, barely anyone give me any advance notice.  Last week was a field trip, you know what teachers would be going beforehand, right??  I asked the teacher running the trip twice - please give me the names of the teachers going so I can plan ahead.  Never did.  

Looking ahead on AESOP I saw that today there was going to be Special Ed meetings, but I was able to work it out.  Then everytime I looked at it again, another teacher listed themself out.  One teacher told the secretary to the Principal that she would be out ill.  Didn't tell me WHO takes care of it.  By the end of the day, in addition to the 5 teachers who were in meetings, 4 more were listed as sick.  Nine teachers marked out, 4 subs to work with.  And that was still early in the evening.