Honored Contributor

I Have A Question About Streaming Services

I am relatively new to streaming. I have Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, and AppleTV. Netflix and Amazon seem to drop all of the episodes at the same time so you can watch the whole season at once. I am watching the second season of Castle Rock on Hulu, I watched five episodes, I think there are ten and they are released on Wednesdays each week. I noticed Hulu did this with The Handmaid's Tale. I haven't watched AppleTV yet so I don't know how this works, but is this the norm for Hulu? I thought the whole point of streaming was we could binge watch a season and not have to wait for episodea to be released each week like network TV?

Super Contributor

Re: I Have A Question About Streaming Services

@Jordan2 wrote:

I am relatively new to streaming. I have Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, and AppleTV. Netflix and Amazon seem to drop all of the episodes at the same time so you can watch the whole season at once. I am watching the second season of Castle Rock on Hulu, I watched five episodes, I think there are ten and they are released on Wednesdays each week. I noticed Hulu did this with The Handmaid's Tale. I haven't watched AppleTV yet so I don't know how this works, but is this the norm for Hulu? I thought the whole point of streaming was we could binge watch a season and not have to wait for episodea to be released each week like network TV?

Some streaming/subscription services drop a whole season, some one episode a week, and some multiple episodes but not the whole season. Personally, I only have Prime, then add/substract other subscription channels when there is a full season of a show that I want to watch.

Honored Contributor

That is the way Netflix works

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Respected Contributor

@Jordan2 wrote:

It is the norm for Hulu and some others and that Disney+ plans to do the same.