Respected Contributor

Re: I Am Not Good at Getting Rid of. . . What?

Books! There are some I will never get rid of, because I read them over and over. I only get rid of some when my bookshelves are too full to hold anymore. 

I also have a hard time with clothes, though I have gotten much better the last couple of years. My first goal is to not have to change out my closet for the different seasons, and I've made good progress with that. I'm trying now to, if I buy ONE item, TWO must go away. I just bought a new sweater for fall, and I already know which two sweaters will be donated!

Frequent Contributor

I still have my wedding cards-and treasure them😁

Honored Contributor

Books and makeup!

Honored Contributor

@persiflage  What I once saved for entertaining guests, I have been using daily.   I have offered some to family but found no takers. 

I'm not really surprised -  the generation just younger than mine are already old enough to be well established.  They have not wanted their own parents' leftovers let alone those from my home.   Even the few items sentimental to me mean little to them. 

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

Sentimental items!!!! Especially of my mom's. But I constantly review and try to streamline my mementos. 

That said...I do love to surround myself in storied vignettes throughout my home, done in a tasteful way. Tells the story of my life, keeps those I love and memories close and makes me happy.

But I don't need to store as many mementos as I do...so I reassess this all the time. Mom only passed in 2020...so it just took a little time to let go of some things and assess what I will actually use or display.  

Valued Contributor

Sentimental things. But with the recent passing of my mother and having to deal with that my six younger siblings and I had to learn to donate, gift, toss or consign many items.