Trusted Contributor

How would you handle this situation?

I have to admit to you I am scared.  I am a retired social worker/therapist and have dealt with domestic violence in a professional capacity but have never lived next door to it. 

Approx. 1.5 years ago a couple moved in... they are about 60 years old.  Their pattern is that they are alone part of the time and then her children come to visit quite frequently.  When they are alone there is constant fighting.  There is stomping of feet, slamming of doors, loud voices, and she bans him from the house.... locks him out.  We have seen him try to take a walk and she hunts him down. 

How do i know all of these things?  I live in a manufactured home park and the walls are not that thick.... and i talk to the neighbors. 

Yesterday, there were several police cars that showed up and the officers got out of their cars with assault rifles drawn.... the wife ran out of the house and in a short time the EMT's went in and brought the husband out alive on a gurney... and another officer brought a weapon out in a brown bag ( a neighbor saw this because the weapon was larger than the bag).

The neighbor had heard the couple fighting loudly for 2 days/night.... she keeps her window open.... and had heard at least one of them threaten to kill the other.  Many people in this park have heard them arguing/fighting for the last 1.5 years.  This has been reported to the office.  I dont know if the police have ever been called. 

Today the husband is still gone and the wife has family there. 

I have to admit that this is a scary situation for me to live in.  I dont understand senior citizens living like this in their "golden years".  However, if there are weapons involved homes are so close that bullets can go astray. 

Is there anything that I can do? 

Honored Contributor

Re: How would you handle this situation?