Respected Contributor

Re: Half-Staff Flags: 5/30, (M) Until Noon only

[ Edited ]

@faeriemoon wrote:

@birkin baby wrote:
This day is so important. I am having my nieces and nephew write a short essay on Memorial Day vs Veteran's Day vs Independence Day. Apparently they don't learn this in school these days. They just think it's a day off.

I'm sure they'll be thrilled about that.

Is there a reason why you can't  just explain it to them?

Well, I'm not so concerned with them being thrilled about it. Of course could EXPLAIN it to them. I have a degree in history and a certification in secondary education. I try to do different things to help them learn. A SHORT essay helps with research,writing, and spelling skills. I don't understand why you seem to think that's a bad thing.

Honored Contributor

@ms traditional wrote:

@proudlyfromNJ wrote:

It honors the dead in the morning and living veterans in the afternoon when it is raised. Tradional from at least early 1900s.

interesting.  no wonder people confuse "Memorial" Day  with "Veterans" day.  since memorial denotes those that have given the ultimate sacrifice, i think the flag should be lowered all day to honor the fallen.   i honor living veterans on Veterans Day -  and whenever i have an opportunity. 

Well, it's been this way for over 100 years and you are just questioning now? 

Honored Contributor

@birkin baby wrote:

@faeriemoon wrote:

@birkin baby wrote:
This day is so important. I am having my nieces and nephew write a short essay on Memorial Day vs Veteran's Day vs Independence Day. Apparently they don't learn this in school these days. They just think it's a day off.

I'm sure they'll be thrilled about that.

Is there a reason why you can't  just explain it to them?