Esteemed Contributor

Re: Googled My Name -- Discovered This

[ Edited ]

Yes, I discovered somerhing similar by accident. It was sometime after my retirement,  when I ran across a document I had developed for use by our hospital and  outside agencies wishing to affiliate with us.  

The same document was being used by one of the educational institutions that formerly sent students for training by our hospital personnel.  It was "word for word," as Whoopi Goldberg said in the movie "Ghost."

Since the document was never copywrited, I suppose one could argue that why reinvent the wheel ... when one already existed.  I  found out the  person who plagiarised it was, in fact, the program director of one of the colleges sending students to us.

Honored Contributor

If I Google my name with my my professional certifications, I get my Linked

In page and info regarding some professional presentations I made years ago.

Honored Contributor

@pjoy wrote:

I'm a journalist for the federal government. If it's written for the government, they own it. Can't tell you how many times a publicatioin has picked up one of my stories and ran it almost word for word without my byline. 

Not just the federal government.  That is true for many, if not most employers.  If it was written for an employer, the employer owns it.

Honored Contributor

@SoX wrote:

Yes, I discoveredsomerhingg similar by accident. It was sometime after my retirement,  when I ran across a document I had developed for use by our hospital and  outside agencies wishing to affiliate with us.  

The same document was being used by one of the educational institutions that formerly sent students for training by our hospital personnel.  It was "word for word," asWhoopii Goldberg said in the movie "Ghost."