Trusted Contributor

Re: Good thoughts for retail workers and other holiday workers

My daughter logged 26,082 steps yesterday and has to work both TG and Black Friday.

Valued Contributor

When I worked in retail, I actually enjoyed working Black Friday.  It was a "good tired" for me and for the most part, customers were in really good moods.  The one Black Friday I remember a flash mob surrounded our mall looking over the balcony.  

Remember how popular they were?  Well, anyway, this mob broke out in Christmas carols.  It was so touching and moving.  You could hear a pin drop as customers and employees walked out to the atrium in awe.  I'm getting chills writing about it.  It was so much fun!

Respected Contributor

What a nice post! I am alone  with no family,but spend many holidays as Friendsgiving. My GFs husband works part time at Wal-Mart and has to work on Thanksgiving so we are gathering together on Friday.  She is not a baker so I do desserts. 

I liked working Holidays as made time and a half. Three years in Assisted Living when laid off in 2008. Since I was alone it actually helped me get through the day. I find myself volunteering more now retired ,at this time of year as not as stressed out.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@RetRN wrote:

@jackthebear wrote:

spouse and I have done both

it's part of the job 

Of course it is part of the job, I however choose to acknowledge the sacrifice they make and send good thoughts. I was an RN for 40 years and know quite well about this topic. 

nm

Honored Contributor

If you were to work on TG,or Christamas at one of the hospitals you got a free dinner at  those hospitals. Also people that were not Christian would volunteer to work on Christmas.

Respected Contributor