Contributor

I love my kindle because I seldom like to reread a book so why buy them? There are, however, a few books I've been rereading for many years and are always still fresh to me. Here are mine. What are yours?

1. River Rising- Hubert Skidmore

This book was read to my 6th grade class by our principal, one chapter a day. I loved it so I reread it every 5-10 yrs. About 6 yrs. yrs. ago you could no longer check it out of our library because it was a collectors item. Had to be read on premises so I started an online search for a copy. Ebay was too high but found a copy at online consignment bookstore and bought it for 8.00 instead of 86.00 on Ebay. Its about a young man from the hills of Ky going to a lumber camp to teach for a year to earn money for medical school. I so love the stories of hill people and how they survive. This is a book any male would love, but I as a 67 yr. old female, love it too. There are two follow up books, Hill Doctor, which I bought and Hill Lawyer, which is still too high.

2. Gone With the Wind- Margaret Mitchell

I think everyone knows this book even if they haven't read it. The Civil War era is another of my favorite book settings.

3. A Tree Grows In Brooklyn - Betty Smith (available for ebooks)

This may be my favorite book ever but I'm trying to list them in order of how I read them originally. Another favorite book setting, the depression. This book is built around Francie, oldest child in a very poor Irish family in Brooklyn where .05 cents worth of ground meat for Sunday dinner for a family of four makes that day special, along with smashed pies bought at discount from the local bakery. This is about as poor as you can get, without being homeless, but they are still happy, make do, and try to improve their lot in life. Ridiculously good book, especially for girls and women.

4. Maggie Now - Betty Smith