Valued Contributor

Does anyone have any experience collecting a settlement from a lawsuit?

Was settled 9 months ago. 

Thanks.

Honored Contributor

Re: Does anyone have any experience collecting a settlement from a lawsuit?

The obvious question  is, did you call your attorney?

If you didn't or don't have one, maybe it's time to speak with one.

Honored Contributor

So what are you going to do?

'cuz every girl's crazy 'bout a sharp dressed man
Honored Contributor

When my parents were in a fatal car crash we sued the guilty party - they settled easily but we never saw one cent from either my folks insurance or the other guys.Our lawyer got his money but we never got anything. It all went toward paying back medicare for my Dad's care. The only one who profitted from this situation was our lawyer.

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Warrior2022  I used to work in the insurance claim field.My DH has been in the industry for 40 years. He’s currently a manager.

Just to make sure I ran your question by him. There is something wrong here.Call your attorney ASAP.If he fails to give you a satisfactory answer or avoids your call contact your State Insurance department.I’m not saying  he took your money but it’s been known to happen.

It shouldn’t take this long to get a check.Did you ever sign  a release from the insurance company under the direction of your attorney?

If you settled the case on your own without an attorney did you ever receive & sign a release saying you accept  X amount of money in settlement of your case? Call the claim manager!! He should look into the matter & get your check issued.Do this before you go to an attorney because he will charge you 1/3 of your settlement amount + expenses to get you a check in a case that you already settled.

Good luck!!

Esteemed Contributor

@151949 wrote: