Frequent Contributor

Does anyone bake a King Cake this time of year?

I baked my first King Cake last year. I’m about to attempt my second one this week. I started with a cream cheese filled King Cake with lemon sugared glaze icing poured on top, while cake was warm, sprinkled with colored sugar. Purple, Gold, and Green. I used 3 different recipes into my one cake. Does anyone else do this tradition? Between January 6th (Epiphany Day) and Mardi Gras Day?
Any secrets or suggestions that help with making the BEST King Cake? Last year I braided the dough. But I’m new to raised dough baking techniques. It was delicious and I can’t wait for another one!!⚜️🥳
Honored Contributor

Re: Does anyone bake a King Cake this time of year?

[ Edited ]

@Jesse Ann wrote:
I baked my first King Cake last year. I’m about to attempt my second one this week. I started with a cream cheese filled King Cake with lemon sugared glaze icing poured on top, while cake was warm, sprinkled with colored sugar. Purple, Gold, and Green. I used 3 different recipes into my one cake. Does anyone else do this tradition? Between January 6th (Epiphany Day) and Mardi Gras Day?
Any secrets or suggestions that help with making the BEST King Cake? Last year I braided the dough. But I’m new to raised dough baking techniques. It was delicious and I can’t wait for another one!!⚜️🥳

@Jesse Ann 

I don't but I have a good friend who does.  She is from NOLA.

Honored Contributor

Mardi Gras King Cake image 1

♥Surface of the Sun♥
Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

Are you going to actually bake the "baby" figurine inside the cake?

WOW!   Mardi Gras is early this year!    Feb 21st!

(Ash Wed  2/22) 

Respected Contributor

@Desertdi wrote:

Mardi Gras King Cake image 1

@Desertdi 

Looks DELICIOUS!       I'm ready to dig in!

Respected Contributor

@Jesse Ann your version sounds scrumptous! Ive never had King Cake but i would definately eat yours. I hope you share a photo of yours when done!

Honored Contributor