Trusted Contributor

Do you believe in life insurance?

I am in the process of job searching and recently obtained my insurance license. I do not have any college and thought any specialized licenses would help me, which I feel is helping get interviews scheduled. The problem is most companies do not offer any salary. I have 20 years sales experience and only 1 year experience where I was full commission. I did well but at the time my son was only 7 and I was fearful of no base income and went to a company with a more stable income. I just wonder how hard it is to sell life insurance? I believe it's a good product but also know slot of people wait till it's too late sometimes to get insurance. I am hopeful though that I can work for a good company with great training and at least a salary or draw.
Honored Contributor

Re: Do you believe in life insurance?

Trusted Contributor

@lolakimono!

Great read:-) I do think insurance is a good investment and I know it will take sometime to build clients.
Trusted Contributor

When my husband and I were first married we bought a life                       insurance policy. It wasn't much but our thoughts were that it could pay                     for our funeral.  We cash in a few years ago because we can pay for our                      own now, but  if you can afford it it's a good idea. I'm would be enter-esed to know if the younger generation even thinks that way.

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

My Dad made a great living selling life insurance.  That was many, many years ago. He was retired about 15 years. It was a lot of hours, office in the morning, appointments at night.  He send out birthday cards, retirement cards etc.  

I don't know how it is now.

He belived in whole life insurance.  We all have it.  Mom was left quite a lot of money, when he passed away. 

Respected Contributor