Honored Contributor

Re: Chelsea Clinton Gives Birth To Third Child Son Jasper

[ Edited ]

i worked as a coordinator  in a museum for years.  we did tons of genealogy, research.  i used to scour the old newspapers relentlessly for births, deaths, marriages.  it was very common in this country to give the child the mothers maiden name.  it was a way of leaving their genealogy print.  when a women lost her name in marriage...she gave it to her child.  sometimes all of them, but mainly to first born, or a girl.  the girl looses her mothers last name by her mothers marriage, then looses her fathers last name if she marries.   the  middle  name of the mother last name helps trace linage.  now, if they were very well known, or well known AND moneyed they kept two names...hense the hyphen in some names.  the origin reason was to trace the lineage for inheritance.  starting n the 50's parents favored the new names, and dont  give the child the mothers last name as a middle name, unless they are important.  they often honor a parent or someone tey love with that persons first name.  

chelsea Clinton is the only child,  of two well known parents.  she is also a woman who has taken her husbands name.  To give her child her family name, and that of her father is to honor them and preserve the family name down the road.  i will tell you when you are doing geneolgy it is so hard to trace married women when you have no clue of her maiden name., unless you get hold of a birth cerificate....and you need to know fathers name to start on search.  back in the day, everything but everything was given to the men.  also, most women would go by initials.  like Mrs.  E.B White.   all we know here is she was, or is married.