Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Re: Cheddar Man First In Britain, Dark Skin Blue Eyes

[ Edited ]

wrote:

Tonight on NOVA...a 13,000 yo skeleton, belonged to a teenager, found in Mexico. I brought this up since we are discussing old finds. @Noel7 thought this might interest you. Woman Happy

Thank you @SilleeMee . I appreciate that.  Is she the one they think was sacrificial?

Anthro is my first love, I majored in it for quite some time.  Then I was told it was not a profession for women, I probably wouldn't get a job.  Margaret Mead was about the only one at that time.  And Leakey's wife.

Honored Contributor

wrote:

@Noel7

My daughter gave me a 23&Me kit but I could not handle the spitting.  Sometimes I wonder how I can sit in the dentist's chair!

I understand, it's not easy and it's kind of time consuming.

@GingerPeach

Trusted Contributor

wrote:

wrote:

I think he looks like 2 distinct races ,in one person. His eyes and features look Caucasian to me ,while his skin and hair look like they belong to a person of color...It makes for a startling  concept about our ancestors

Hi @cherry

It's really eye opening.  Of course, the first mothers for all of us were African.  They can trace them, too.  I received a map of Africa showing what modern African nations mine traveled out of, everyone does when you get your ancestry report. 

We all carry mtDNA, genes going back that far on the matrilineal line.

The article I read on msn.com had this to say:

"Cheddar Man shares a genetic profile with several other Mesolithic-era individuals found in Spain, Hungary and Luxembourg whose DNA has already been analyzed. The group, known as Western Hunter-Gatherers, migrated to Europe from the Middle East after the last Ice Age, about 12,000 years ago."