Respected Contributor

Care for your car if you’re not driving often

I am the first to admit I know nothing about mechanics, especially the car.  In that light, this article--likely basic for most--gave me useful information.  Maybe somebody else could benefit from reading this, which is why I am passing it along.

As QVC doesn't generally tolerate links, the PopularScience website is popsci.com and the URL for the article finishes with:

/story/technology/car-care-during-quarantine/  

Strive for respect instead of attention. It lasts longer.
Esteemed Contributor

Re: Care for your car if you’re not driving often

@IamMrsG  

I am also not a car techie and really don't want to be!! I am not leaving the house at all...I fall in that group of elders with health issues.  Had been going out to to start car every so often, but then stopped for a while. 

Next time...of course...car would not start.  Now this is the one and only battery this car has had, so I knew that it had died a heroic death!   Trying to decide what to do about it...my wonderful neighbor came over and helped me out!!  He went and bought another battery, installed it and ran the car for a while!!  Bless him.....

Honored Contributor

I've never driven much and even less now.  Sometimes my car doesn't move for 2-3 weeks.  It's a 2003 and has barely 55,000 miles.  I don't do anything special but the lack of driving and my short trips are hard on the battery.  They only last me about 4 years then I get a new one.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Highlighted
Respected Contributor