Honored Contributor

Re: CAN'T RETIRE BECAUSE OF COST OF HEALTH INSURANCE

@bathina wrote:

@staciesmom wrote:

Why don't we demand our elected representatives do something about this situation? It seems like the United States has plenty of money to give away to foreign countries, why not demand change? We allow the NFL to not pay taxes, but working people are taxed to the hilt. 

Seriously?

We have to be careful who we put into office.  Only politicians can change things and we can change things by how we vote.  I was shocked when I first heard NFL did not pay taxes.  How ridiculous is that?

Esteemed Contributor

I guess I am lucky.  I have Medicare as primary and then my health insurance kicks in from the State where I was a teacher for over 30 years.  I do pay but it comes directly out of my pension and it covers just about everything between the two.  

Respected Contributor

Blessings to you and many years of healthy and happy living.

Respected Contributor

@sunshine 919 wrote:

@Nightowlz wrote:

That's the only reason DH is still working. It's ashamed people have to work until they are dead.

Our government needs to provide decent health care for all the people not just for them.

I totally agree.  Our country is too big to keep having insurance issues.  If the good insurance is good for the government it should be good for the rest.  I bet they have great dental as well.  Probably no co pays.  And they could afford it.  

Congress gets their insurance from the ACA exchange.

Honored Contributor

@Spinach30

Many people aren't ready to retire at age 60, because they aren't ready financially.   My neighbor is 72 and still working ...   she did a lousy job of planning ahead.  At 65 you can get Medicare,  but don't expect it to be free.  

Honored Contributor