Esteemed Contributor

@Cats3000 wrote:

I have a piece of advice:  Make sure you have an attorney representing you in the purchase and closing on the house.  Do not rely on real estate agents or title clerks; they are not lawyers.  Do not rely on the seller's attorney; that individual does not represent you and won't have your legal interests to advance.  We would never make a real estate purchase or sale without an attorney representing us, and only us.

Many years ago, we purchased a house from a seller who had multiple financial problems.  Our attorney made sure that none of the seller's financial problems affected us.  Several months later we received an electric bill that was for service before we owned the house.  We turned the bill over to our attorney and she took care of it.

@Cats3000  ..  I am a Real Estate Attorney in New Jersey.  I cannot agree with you more.   I am tired of Real Estate agents misinforming my clients.  They do very little with the exception of hounding me about when we are scheduled to close.    Some don't even handle obtaining a CCO and Smoke Detector Certificate... which for the thousands of dollars they are getting should be the least they could do.   I am currently working with one particular Real Estate agent who has had me and my client (who lives out of State) deal with getting the CCO and Smoke Detector Certificate for two different properties.   Since there is  Realtor involved it should be his job,,  It is not a lawyer's job to do it but I feel so bad for my client that I had to step in.  I complained to the agents broker ... to no avail.  In fact he told me that CCOs and Smoke Detector Certificates in NJ have been waived in NJ.   Absolutely  NOT true!  Ironically people complain about the fees attorneys charge (which is a small fraction of what Realtors get while the attorneys do all the work) yet having no problem paying the Real Estate commissions!!!!

Esteemed Contributor