Honored Contributor

Bad and good experiences with meal and grocery delivery services

[ Edited ]

Hi All. I just want to share a heads up which might be helpful for others here. First, the good. I have had some good experiences ordering groceries from Publix using their service company, Instacart. Everything I ordered came on time and the driver was courteous and I had no problems with the freshness of the groceries in my order. I have also ordered dinner from restaurants using a Grub Hub as their delivery service. It does add to the cost but sometimes it’s necessary to have meals delivered.  Now, the bad. Last night I ordered from a restaurant that was nearby. I received a mailer announcing their meal delivery using a delivery service called Postmates. This is just my own personal, one time experience, but I was very dissatisfied with all aspects of the order and I don’t blame the restaurant.  I also don’t blame the delivery person in this instance. If you plan on ordering, please check out everything you can about this company before placing the order using them.  Today I checked into them on Google ratings, the reviews of their company for their app on the Apple App Store, Wikipedia, Glassdoor (Indded.com) to see what their employees say and I read everything on their entire website. Wish I had done this before I gave them my information.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Bad and good experiences with meal and grocery delivery services

I’ve had only positive experiences with Grub Hub. I’ve never used Peapod the delivery service for the local supermarket.But I know many people who have & they are all very satisfied.

My son & his girlfriend use Uber Eats quite a bit & they’ve never had a problem.Although he told me that some restaurants carry high transaction fees,so you have to be aware which ones you order from.Fees appear to range from $3.50-$9.99.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]