Trusted Contributor

Backyard fencing - wood or vinyl?

Not sure if this is the right forum to ask, but I'm "on the fence" about this. Smiley Very Happy

I got a quote for replacing a blown down old wooden stockade fence with options for vinyl or wood.

Any thoughts to share on the pros and cons of either?

Trusted Contributor

Re: Backyard fencing - wood or vinyl?

I'm no expert, and maybe there are posters who would be better informed, but I would definately go with vinyl.

I've had both, and vinyl just holds up so much better.  I live near deep woods and there is a lot of mold and I can keep the vinyl clean.

I love the look of a wood fence, especially unpainted, but I don't think it will hold up that well for too long.

Honored Contributor

I too prefer the look of a wood fence, but I think they don't last as long, and require more maintenance, than vinyl.  I think I'd be leaning toward vinyl.

Valued Contributor

[ Edited ]

Before doing anything I would get a professional surveryor on the premises to look at your property deed and other legal documents, and then do his own measuring and survey to ensure what he surveys is also the same dimensions as your property deed.

"No fun erecting something just to be sued because you crossed into someone elses property line without their legal knowledge or consent".

Also if you have a gas line or electric line you must notify each of your intensions so they can offer their legal advice as to how you should safeguard both gas and electric power lines relative to underground and above ground. There are safeguards which must be strictly adhered to.

Definitely vinyl as it is really is easy to keep clean, and will last and last, provided it was professionally installed and came with a written warranty.

Custom vinyl fences can also mimic wood if that is the look preferred, so do speak to the vinyl professional and inquire.