Frequent Contributor

Re: Anyone have Tricare and Medicare?

We have Medicare and  tricare for life.  Hubby has been hospitalized several times.  We have not paid anything.  It is a great combination,  I feel fortunate to have this insurance.  I only show my Medicare and ID card. Everything is taken care from there.  The prescription service is very good.  I have  friends who still go to base to get their meds. I have found it more convenient to use the prescription service. 

Honored Contributor

@cotton4me : Tricare for life- no longer pays for a lot of RX as in years past and federal bcbs makes a difference. Tricare doesn’t pay for pc doctor and Medicare only covers 80% therefore a copay, plus Tricare doesn’t pay all the difference like the federal bcbs.Southern Bee 

Valued Contributor

Interesting discussion.  I am new to Medicare & turn 65 this month.  I have TriCare for Life which I understand will now become my secondary insurance since Medicare will now be primary.  I got a new doctor last year & haven't been in to see him yet this year...looks like I should check in & get these 2 insurances coordinated with him.

My husband was retired military & passed away almost 3 years ago.  He was older so was already established with Medicare/TriCare & told me to go that route when I turned 65.  He was sick for a long time & had numerous ambulance services, hospitalizations, visiting nurses, medications, etc & we never got a bill for anything.  We were always so grateful for all the wonderful care & treatment he had over the years, it was such a blessing!

Honored Contributor

Tricare covers all RX drugs except those that are not medically necessary or over the counter drugs and cosmetic and stop smoking aids.

Federal BC/BS excludes the same drugs as does Medicare Part D and most private RX insurance programs.