Super Contributor

Anyone Ever Hold an Estate Sale???

I am looking for advice.

My dad just turned 88, and he is having some issues with his memory. He has agreed to move in to an assisted living facility in our area. We took a look at one the other day, and he liked what he saw.

He knows that it is time to give up the one story house, and I have no interest in it, so it has come time to down size.

I was thinking of holding an estate sale, in order to get rid of some stuff.

I have never done this before, so I am asking all of your super smart ladies for advice.

What should I expect?

What exactly do they do?

What is a reasonable price to pay them?

And anything else that I should know.

Thank-you very, very much!!!Smile Smile Smile

Trusted Contributor

Re: Anyone Ever Hold an Estate Sale???

I've gone to a lot of estate sales. The homeowners aren't even there. There's a team of people. Everything is organized and prices are marked. They don't readily negotiate prices. I know they keep a big percentage of the take. I don't know what they do with the stuff that doesn't sell.

When my father passed, me and my brother's family held our own estate sale. My God! A zillion people showed up an hour before the starting time-they were pros and tried to get every price down. It was an exhausting weekend. We should have hired the pros!

Honored Contributor

Estate sale companies in my area don't agree to hold sales for every household.

When my mom passed away, I contacted a few companies. They all felt that her furniture wasn't worth holding a sale. It was solid maple - but it was EarlyAmerican - not popular in 2002. They wanted to take some lamps and oil paintings and sell them on consignment, but that was it.

The moral of the story - you may have to interview many companies, and still may have to end up using a junk hauler...or have your own tag sale.