Super Contributor

Any one lift weights for bone strength

im 70, and started 4 years ago to lift weights...my bones were like swiss cheese

I bench press and "Farmer carry"...walk with kettle bells...im up to walking with (2) 18 lb bells

I had a bone density scan...MD was astonished....

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Any one lift weights for bone strength

@ProudMa wrote:

im 70, and started 4 years ago to lift weights...my bones were like swiss cheese

I bench press and "Farmer carry"...walk with kettle bells...im up to walking with (2) 18 lb bells

I had a bone density scan...MD was astonished....

@ProudMa   I do.  I had a Dr. tell me that lifting weights help wake your bone up.  I was told 25 years ago that I had the bones of a 80 year old.  I could not tolerate the bone meds.  They almost killed me.   I started lifting and I never went back for a bone density again.  I have fallen off a ladder going to attic, and I fell out of a tree.  LOL   NOTHING BROKE   Meds. are a big money maker.  Glad to see you tried something natural.

Honored Contributor

@ProudMa   Good for you.  I occsionally lift weights but only 5 lbs.

18 lbs!!...That's remarkable!.  Is 'farmer carry' mean one in each hand?  Do you walk your neighborhood with the kettle balls?

I should do more as I have osteoperosis, not horrible but again, should increase weight bearing exericses.  I do have a rebounder that I use.

Honored Contributor

@ProudMa   You are an awesome warrior!  One of the best things you can do for your health!  Stay strongSmiley Wink

Honored Contributor

I met my now DH at the gym 15 years ago. I like to lift free weights with the guys. 😄 Much more interesting. 😂 I’m quite muscular but not bulky. I’ve always done heavier weights to failure (vs lighter weights and more reps).
Super Contributor

Farmer carry is one kettle bell in each hand

I started with (2) 5 lb bells
Now carry 18lb bell in each hand