Honored Contributor

Any experiences with Discover Bank?

I have a cd that matures tomorrow.  The bank's current cd rates aren't all that great.  And I really don't have a lot of time right now to search out other sources.

I have a Discover card and was online this morning and saw that they're offering a 12 month cd right now for 5.00% interest.  

Has anyone ever used them for a cd?  They're FDIC insured, but I am sometimes hesitant to try something new.

Why is it, when I have a 50/50 guess at something, I'm always 100% wrong?
Honored Contributor

Re: Any experiences with Discover Bank?

@gidgetgh   I have no Discover bank experience, but  if you have time, take at quick look at Bankrate and see if they're included and rated.  

Respected Contributor

DD uses both Ally and Discover online banking. No issues. You can call Discover with any questions (I did). I believe deposits and withdrawals are thru an ACH.

Happy to make high yields on accounts!

Honored Contributor

@millieshops wrote:

@gidgetgh   I have no Discover bank experience, but  if you have time, take at quick look at Bankrate and see if they're included and rated.  

@millieshops - thanks. I've used Bankrate before.  You just have to wade through so many options that I'm not interested in, but I'll take another look to see if they give a rating for Discover.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@scatcat wrote:

DD uses both Ally and Discover online banking. No issues. You can call Discover with any questions (I did). I believe deposits and withdrawals are thru an ACH.

Happy to make high yields on accounts!