Honored Contributor

Just like everything else, rules have to put in place for everything else...putting on clothes included.

Respected Contributor

@software wrote:

I supposed some code is necessary but where I work it's ridiculous.   And the hags here get great joy in turning in offenders to HR.    7 more months until retirement!!!

@Mellie32 wrote:

Do you think they are necessary?  Do you think they're oppressive?  Do you believe only certain professions should have dress codes?  What do you think should be the dress code for an office?  School?  

I worked in a school in suburban Chicago (think long, very bitterly cold winters) and female teachers were NOT permitted to wear trousers-skirts and dresses only.

We got around that by wearing long, midi skirt w/knee sockes, pettipants and high boots. Done right, everyone was kept happy.

Yes, we had the same hags who would love to get brownie points w/the school admin by ratting out other teachers.

There's a special karma for folks like that. I'm a firm believer in karmic justice in this world or the next.

Honored Contributor

@SilleeMee wrote:

Just like everything else, rules have to put in place for everything else...putting on clothes included.

That's the word I was needing.  Rules for dress.  

Respected Contributor

@Krimpette wrote:

I'm in favor of dress codes in the workplace.  However, I'm also in favor of dress codes or uniforms for students also.  Nothing wrong with looking neat and tidy!:womanwink:

To me it's about much more than just "looking neat and tidy."  It's about self-respect (in too many instances), respect for others, respect for authority, respect for general decorum, learning how to follow rules.... I could go on. 

Honored Contributor

I've seen some people out in public and all I can think is that they must not own a full length mirror .... or, if they do, ever use it!   If they HAD, they never would have left the house looking like that.  I hope.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor