Honored Contributor

For those who want to be enlightened about a low carb/keto lifestyle...

[ Edited ]

For those who are not already on a low carb/keto lifestyle plan, I highly recommend reading:

'Why we get fat and what to do about it' by Gary Taubes

Below is an EXTREMELY winded post. You have been forewarned.

Let me start by saying I am not an expert. I am not a doctor. What I am is a pre-diabetic and my husband recently learned on Sept 7th that he has become a type 2 diabetic. My husband went to the Dr because he started getting symptoms for pain in his feet. Additionally, over a 3-4 month period he lost about 30 lbs without dieting/changing eating pattern/lifestyle (quite scary).

Let me add more for a full picture...
My husband already takes an average of nearly 30 pills a day for other issues...about 20-24 of the pills he takes is related to his having his gall bladder removed. He takes mountains of fiber pills daily. He also takes pills for cholesterol and his thyroid (which he has taken meds for since his late teens) and a daily pill for neuropathy issues in his legs.

So, with all that said, the Dr told my husband he had to start being on a couple of meds for his new diagnosis. My husband asked is there any way he could avoid taking any more meds. The Dr suggested he start counting his carbs daily and keeping them under 60 every day and in about 3 months after losing about another 25 lbs, he will see if that is possible.

Since that Dr's visit, DH and I have changed our eating...DH at 100% and I'm at about 90-95%. There are a few things I still am having difficulty weaning myself from, but I'm working on it.