Respected Contributor

Re: Can you Choose ONE Best Book You'd Recommend From 2018?

[ Edited ]

@DiAnne

That is so funny because I have a 70 page rule too.  I came up with the rule when I read The Prince of Tides, a million years ago.  I just could not get into it until page 70.  I was about to close it and quit.  I've stuck with the rule ever since.

@sunala

This is the perfect time for your post.   I finally ordered a Kindle after reading via the Kindle app on my phone and macbook for years.  It arrives today and I can load it with some of these books.   Thanks.

Trusted Contributor

I read a lot of mystery/suspense novels. The best one this year was The Late Show by Michael Connelly, a police procedural with a female lead. I'm now waiting to get the sequel, A Dark Secret Place where she joins forces with Harry Bosch.

I am now definitely buying The Library Book!  I enjoyed the NPR piece about the book and the recommemdations here made up my mind. I'm also a special librarian....not just because I'm special LOL but my field of libararianship is not traditional.

Love this thread!

Esteemed Contributor

@sandy53 wrote:

@DiAnne wrote:

@sunala

I did not have high hopes for The Library Book.  I almost did not read it - I have a 70 page rule.  If I am not into the book by page 70 I quit.  I noticed over 500 people were on the waitlist at the library for this book.  Figured they may know something I did not and I was right!

I just checked my library website and one copy is available.  I put it on hold and will pick it up on Wednesday.  I seldom read nonfiction, but this intrigues me.  Thanks to all who mentioned this book.  

A favorite of mine that I don't think has been mentioned yet is Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan.  It was published in 2017, but I read it this year.  I thought it was an amazing book.

@sandy53- I'm so glad you mentioned Beneath a Scarlet Sky. I got the Kindle version for free as a promotion some years ago, but I never read it.