Contributor

Has anyone read this book?  It was highly recommended to me by a lady who goes to the same nail salon as me.  I lost both my parents within the past year.  Mom has only been gone 2 mos. 

Respected Contributor

I have it but have not read the entire book yet. I did see the PBS special about this book. I am a geriatric nurse so I have a great deal of interest in life and the dying process. I have seen so much suffering on trying to find a cure in people who have terminal diseases that it troubles me. I had a friend die of cancer 6 years ago. When she was diagnosed she had stage 4 colon cancer and her doctor told her to get her affairs in order and they could do palliative care. She rejected that and found a doctor who treated her aggressivly with chemotherapy at $28,000 per dose. She lived a total of 9 months after diagnosis. 7 of those months I would say that she suffered the negetive effects of chemotherapy. I have a friend who is an interenist and we often discuss her case. He thinks she would have lived about the same 9 months but without the awful side effects she had from the medication. We were all scared in our office and the people who are not medical did not understand why she was not getting better. One night us nurses discussed if we would do CPR on her and we decided "yes" if she died on us we would have to do CPR because she wanted to live. That night we hung a CPR mask on the bulletin board where we could all reach for it in an emergency. She often came into the office ready to vomit or she would fall down. It was very stressful. I talked to her one day about just writing letters to her children who were 16 and 18. She said she would but she never did. When she died her family was stunned because they were under the impression that she was going to be OK. It was awful. I agree with the physician who wrote Being Mortal that we must discuss the reality of the situation with the patient and the family. Palliative care is a good way to go as f