Regular Contributor

"Over 90% of subjects saw an improvement" Clinical Results on Beauty Products

Since we have an all day beauty event it's time for me to vent.  Not all vendors are the same, but it just boggles my mind when I see vague descriptions.  As a professional statistician I don't expect to see full details on TV, but in my line of work it is very rare to obtain an over 90% improvement and when I watch these beauty shows I see those all the time.  It is impressive to see, but most vendors don't show how many people they tested and where they found the subjects to test the products.  The size of the sample matters in a study.   It is not the same to test 9 people than it is to test 29.  The same goes for random sampling.  Are they picking subjects randomly to test the products or are they picking friends, relatives or fans of the line?  I just hope that in the future QVC shows more information or asks their vendors to be more strict when they do their clinicals.  

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Re: "Over 90% of subjects saw an improvement" Clinical Results on Beauty Products

@glam_girl  I agree statistics can be manipulated to serve many purposes.  I love it when a company advertises "lifetime guaranty."  Whose lifetime??  The company that may be out of business next month??  Buyer beware.

Honored Contributor

Re: "Over 90% of subjects saw an improvement" Clinical Results on Beauty Products

@glam_girl 

I agree! Well said! 

If every product worked as well as they claimed, we would all have near perfect skin! 

I try to look at ingredients and read reviews of women with similar skin issues to mine before I try a new skincare product. I also understand that some products work better for some than for others. It’s a lot of trial & error to find what works for me.

Honored Contributor

kind of obvious that we don't need to be a genius to figure that one out,

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]