Honored Contributor

@NYCLatinaMe wrote:

I just saw this post, the initial one, and don't have time to read the 10 pages of comments here, so I don't know if what I am writing has been brought out before.

I don't know what is the supplement being discussed, but scientific studies have found that ingestion of hyaluronic acid supplements "inhibits skin wrinkles and improves skin condition."  This is the conclusion of a study published in 2018: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5522662/.  This study has before and after pictures in addition to the scientific data.  There are also additional published studies on this subject with similar results.

I can't comment on specific supplements, I am no scientist, and I no longer have the research that I have done in the past readily available.

Personally, I did decide to start taking on a regular basis the Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides Powder with Hyaluronic Acid and Vitamin C supplement beginning in May 2022, and since that date, my skin has shown noticeable improvement.  I guess that may be mostly attributable to the collagen, but at the time I chose this specific product, I did research on HA because the Vital Proteins with HA costs more, so I wanted to know if that supllementation was worth the expense.  I found many studies that concluded that HA is beneficial to skin.

Healthline and WebMD also have articles on the benefits of HA supplementation.

Sorry if this is duplicative of other comments.

@NYCLatinaMe Is the Vital Proteins Collagen w/HA tasteless?  I was wondering about sprinkling it on food.  I think Costco may sell that brand.  Thanks.

Honored Contributor

@Sooner   Yes, you're so right. I've changed to less expensive products and I see no difference to the more expensive skincare. It's all in the ingredients....not the packaging, hype and advertizing. 

If it seems too good to be true, it most likely is!

Honored Contributor

@Shanus wrote: