Trusted Contributor

Re: What’s the best medium brown hair dye to cover gray at home?

@Mindy D.....I use Clairol Natural Instincts #4, this semi-permenant color covers the gray on my right temple, I also add  "No Gray' drops to the mix before applying this helps prolong the color alittle longer, I usually repeat every 4 weeks.

Honored Contributor

@SoCal Bred wrote:

@Mindy D.....I use Clairol Natural Instincts #4, this semi-permenant color covers the gray on my right temple, I also add  "No Gray' drops to the mix before applying this helps prolong the color alittle longer, I usually repeat every 4 weeks.

@SoCal Bred  - I've never used the No Gray drops before.  I'm curious if it would make a difference on my hair.

Trusted Contributor

Hi @San Antonio Gal..... Yes, I think it does, I used to purchase a 2-pack (they come in invidual little envelopes per each use) from Walgreen's, they quit selling them.  I found them on Amazon or you may find them in your local beauty supply stores, they carry the bottle type that you just add a few drops to your dye mixture before using.

Respected Contributor

I have used Naturetint --Wheat Germ color. you can check out their website for info.  I generally purchase thru Amazon. A lot of health food stores carry it Whole foods , and I think  iHerb online. The price varies . I usually pay around $12. You can measure out the amount for coverups . It is one of the most gentle I have used in all of the years I have colored my hair. The drugstore ones irritated my scalp.

WhenI first started turning gray-- a very dull gray I had always thought I would just let it go (a child of the all natural 60's Smiley Happy ). But mine was not a silvery or to me at all attractive . I just feel better when I color.

In between I use that powder stuff HSN sells and or the L oreal spray on root coverage.

Honored Contributor

@monicakm wrote: