Respected Contributor

What non-surgical procedures or products work best to rebuild collagen and smooth out wrinkles?

What products or non-surgical procedures have you found that really work at rebuilding collagen and  smoothing out wrinkles?  I have been hearing about some fillers and laser resurfacing but also have heard some horror stories.  Thanks for sharing.

Valued Contributor

Re: What non-surgical procedures or products work best to rebuild collagen and smooth out wrinkles?

my opinion of ways to reduce wrinkles

- drink more water
- stay out of the sun
- eat healthy foods

i am not a scientist, but it seems that topical products that "claim" they have collagen in them, aren't working, as people expected that they would. maybe that's because most products are watered down and contain so many fillers (aka ingredients that aren't good for you, one way or another). i say that because these wrinkle reduction products have been around for decades and people seem to be getting wrinkles earlier and earlier in life. by now, a large percent of people over 50 should be wrinkle free - LOL

i suspect that taking collagen orally would be a better solution, as most issues actually start on the inside and eventually show up on the outside. similar to how athletes get hyaluronic injections for knee or other joint pain. yes, they will sit in a special tub with something in it, that i can't remember the name of it right now, but when that doesn't work, they get an injection. they don't continue to put on cream or ointment on.

yes, people will say or swear by such and such a product, but they still have the thing (in this case wrinkles) that whatever product that they are slathering on, is suppose to remedy. this is why when i use to watch beauty shows, i would crack up, when i'd hear someone on air say, "i've been using product x for 3 years (or whatever)", but they still have the thing that the product is claiming that it reduces, fixes or removes. why is that? hmmmm.