Esteemed Contributor

Used a different brand hair color

I'm a devoted Revlon Color Silk user, but yesterday I tried Garnier Nutrisse Medium Brown 50 for the first time.

I'm loving the results!  I never let my gray show, so not sure how much there is Cat Happy  When my color starts to fade -- 3 weeks or so -- I do a touch up.  Yes, it's frequent, but an hour out of my day to look better isn't too much.

However, it gave a very even, very realistic color and my hair was in great shape.  It was a little creamier than Color Silk and easy to apply.

I will continue to use Color Silk, but I think it is probably a good idea to change brands now and then. 

Honored Contributor

Re: Used a different brand hair color

I have been using Colorsilk for the last 21 years, I am happy to stick with it, color is perfect, no bad smell, no ammonia and the price at Walmart of $2.68 cant be beat!!

Honored Contributor

I'm another Color Silk user for years and see no reason to switch.  2/$6 at Walgreens.  

Honored Contributor

Another Colorsilk fan here. I use it to cover the grey. I don’t have a ton of grey but it tends to show against my brown hair.
Honored Contributor

@Witchy Woman     how fortunate - you now have two different brands that work for you. I don't know if you've gone through the "devastation" when a favorite product is discontinued and then you're forced to find something else. When it's something as "out there" as your hair, you don't want to have to go through the trial and error period for too long. For me, it seems like my body chemistry eventually rejects a product after I use it for a while so I purposely try to have a cache of products that work. Just in case.

April is Autism Awareness/Acceptance month.
Trusted Contributor

I should switch to home coloring. My hairdresser raised her prices again.

Is it difficult to get the hang of applying color to the back of your head? Any tips to share?

Honored Contributor

@PilatesLover wrote: