Honored Contributor

Re: Today’s Time Saver Primer & Foundation Experiment

@Katcat1 

Whoa, I'm sorry you took my reply as "angry".  I reread it and still don't see "angry" in it.  I guess I can prove it.  I've been wearing a primer for 30 years under my makeup and my makeup goes on better and stays looking nice longer.  There, I proved it Smiley Happy

But if you've never used it, how can you prove they don't work?  Reminds me of one of the beauty gurus I watch who touted she's never used a primer, doesn't need one and thinks they're a waste of money.  Someone called her on it and she actually ordered one (I don't think she mentioned the brand), used and and and now she won't put on makeup without it. 

Super Contributor

@RollTide2008  And, there you have it!  It depends what you are looking for. I have dry skin like another poster mentioned, and primers lock in whichever moisturizer and/or oil I used underneath & (at least for me) provides me with a barrier as it were, against whatever. I don't wear foundation 80% of the time but still wear different primers. Some can provide some "glowyness" to an otherwise flat effect. Some like Supergoop Uneven Sunscreen provide spf. So, it just depends but I can't prove it. They just work for me, & I am not looking to extend makeup wear at all. 

Trusted Contributor

I also have used primers every day for years and would never do my makeup without them.  I have large pores on my nose so I have to use a pore filling primer there or my pores are very visible.

I have combo skin so I use a different primer on the rest of my face depending on how oily or dry I am that day.  Now I will admit that the non-pore filling primers don't cause as noticeable a difference, but I do think some of them help foundation apply better.  I don't know if it makes my foundation last longer, but that's not the reason I use it.

Honored Contributor

@RooRoo