Honored Contributor

Tell Me About Keratin Treatments

Let me just state I'm not very good with my hair. I have a lob, about shoulder length angled longer in the front shorter in the back. I never can get that sleek look like my stylist does. I have been considering getting a Keratin treatment, thinking I will get the no frizz sleek look I want. My sister has had it, she said it lasts about 4 months, you need to use sulfate free shampoos. What I didn't like about it, it made her hair super straight and very flat. It is pricey and time consuming. Has anyone had this, did you like it? If you don't mind can you give me a ballpark figure how much it costs and how long it takes to have it done?

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Tell Me About Keratin Treatments

[ Edited ]

Since menopause, the texture of my hair has changed and I have one side and part of the back of my head that is very frizzy. My stylist for years used Keratin on the side (at no cost) so I could see how it would work with my hair. It does last for awhile, but it didn't last for 4 months for me. The problem I had with it was the very strong chemical odor when it was applied. I have trouble breathing strong chemical odors and hated every minute of the short application. Also, while it left the hair really straight, it was also really flat and difficult for me to create a bit of volume.

If chemical odors don't bother you, then it's probably worth a try at least once. I'm not sure about the cost, although I know it's somewhat expensive. I didn't like the application or the flat-hair results, so I didn't pursue it after that first test.

Respected Contributor