Respected Contributor

Re: Starting a Beauty Blog - Any Advice?

I blog my sub boxes and also some beauty hauls.. I am still learning and don't worry if your pictures are not perfect initially - mine aren't, that is for sure. I am the world's worst swatch taker - that is an art form.

If you have a lot of items that you want to share, try to review some of the items, talk about the colors, texture, scents. Be honest about what you are reviewing. If you don't like it, state so. If you like it, state why you like it.

Also, some bloggers put in a style - there is one that I do love to read, but she loves to swear in her blogs (lol) and there is another that loves EVERYTHING and *giggles* all the time. I love her pictures, however, so I put up with the *giggles* *blushes* and all of that Smiley Happy If you have a style of writing, don't be afraid to use it! It might take you a while to start imparting that style, if you aren't used to blogging.

You can moderate your comments, if you are worried about trolls. There are many free blogs out there, I use wordpress

Some women who blog do not work outside of the home, so it is easier for them to keep up a great blog. I work outside of the home, so it is just a hobby for me. It also helps me remember what products I got in a sub in the past, so if I want to purchase it, I have written about it.

If you do received freebies, make sure you mention that in your review and do an honest review on them. Just because they are free doesn't mean you should give the company a "free" pass.

most important thing of all - have fun!! Don't do it if it becomes a chore. Set aside some time weekly to work on your blog, but don't feel pressured to write something if you do not have time or anything to say!

If you can't fix what's broken, you'll go insane ~ Max
Look, I don’t like the taste of broccoli, but it doesn’t get tastier if you call it “Broccoli!”!
You mustn't be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling. ~ Eames
Super Contributor