Valued Contributor

Re: Some say it's not necessary to use special eye creams, what do you think?

I’m an RN and before I have had about 10 years of dermatology experience. With that said, this is just my opinion from my experiences with patients, myself & my daughter. Eye creams are pretty much essential. There aren’t any of the sebum producing pores, on the eyelid& only a minimal amount under the eye. Not everyone will get the same results from a particular brand. It’s trial & error. And, you may have had an allergic reaction to the eye cream you had to one of the ingredients in the cream that irritated you. If you still have it, take a photo with your phone & keep it to check compare ingredients to other brands.
For years I used either Clinique or Origins. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve found I need more of a treatment eye cream. I now use Dr. Denese’s eye cream that was in her last TSV, it’s a light gold gel. I also use Philosophy’s “Hope in a Tube”. I’ve used it before it was even on QVC. I found Philosophy whilst on holiday in a department store, years & years ago. I’ve used many of their products for years; and will never give it up!
That’s what works for me. I’m 58 & unless I put a ton of concealer on w/o a moisturiser, I don’t have noticeable crows feet. I need to use a concealer as the only thing I inherited skin wise from my Italian Dad is dark circles!!!
My daughter uses Clinique or Nuetrogena. She’s only 30 but, I’ve taught her that what she does now will effect how she looks in 20 years.
My only other advise would be not to get caught up in a super expensive brand from a derms office or spa. They are marked up to the heavens! There are good products at every price point. Target has a lot of great brands if you want to try a few ingredients. They even have Boots & #7 from England!
Hope that helps!
Valued Contributor