Valued Contributor

Re: Solution for brassy hair?

I have the same issue with my hair going brassy after highlights.

Wen's new Indiago purple cleansing conditioner is the best I have tried as others tend to be drying. 

Honored Contributor

@nanny24  I would speak with my hairdresser about what to do.  If she/he dosn't know you don't like this then they can't fix it.  

Honored Contributor

I go to a Kevin Murphy salon. She uses all Kevin Murphy color and hair products. I never have any brassiness to my hair color. I absolutely LOVE using KM products. It smells so nice! Well worth the extra cost. 

"Pure Michigan"
Valued Contributor

Joico purple shampoo

cathy from ma

Frequent Contributor

@nanny24 

I'm no coloring expert but seems your colorist needs to go with colors in "Ash" tones and stay away from golden tones.  Most color does tend to pull to golden/brassy/red tones but when you use Ash it eliminates this.  I'm not sure a shampoo will do that but certainly wouldn't hurt to give it a try.

For example: I color my hair at home with Loreal Paris Excellence Creme (I've used it for years).  I am a medium blonde.  If I buy the color "8 Medium Blonde," my hair comes out looking more golden to slightly reddish.  But if I use the color "7.5A Medium Ash Blonde," my hair has no golden or reddish tones.  I perfer the Ash tones myself as I don't want to be a red-blonde.  Good luck!

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

I have the same problem with brassiness but if you are coming out of the salon looking brassy, she is either using the wrong color on you or she needs to put a toner on you to get rid of that.

My hair pulls gold and they have to use a toner on me and leave it on for longer than is usual.  I never leave the salon brassy, she makes sure of that.  However, as I continually shampoo, the brasiness can sometimes start to come back.