Occasional Visitor

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here but I just have a question about skin care. I'm turning 50 and my skin isn't too bad but there are some things that drive me nuts. I have slightly sagging skin around my chin, labial folds and some wrinkles. Can you recommend any products that have been great for you? I've been using Philosophy since my 30s but I seem to have "plateaued" for lack of a better term. Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

Honored Contributor

Prescription Retin-A (Tretinoin is the generic) a few nights a week and Alpha Hydrox Souffle every morning for the wrinkles, followed by a good moisturizer (I use Mad Hippie Antioxidant Facial Oil at night and Mad Hippie Face Cream in the morning).

A good vitamin C serum will help with tightening (I highly recommend Mad Hippie Vitamin C Serum). A healthy lifestyle will help with your skin and sagging, too. Limiting alcohol consumption, eating the right kinds of foods, drinking plenty of water, getting enough sleep, etc.

Honored Contributor

Sagging is a tough problem. I don't think any topical product will do very much. But the general advice of exfoliation (I use BHA; others prefer AHAs), moisturization, and a Vitamin C serum is a good, basic way to help your skin. I've recently added Matrixyl to that regimen, but it is a bit too soon for me to review its effects.

~Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle~ Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
Respected Contributor
Don't forget SPF!
Super Contributor

I echo the advice of the above experts. I'm currently using NuFace in an attempt to hoist up the droop. I've been hit or miss but have recently (two days ago!) recommitted. If I ever see actual improvement, you can be sure I'll report it here!

Super Contributor