Valued Contributor

I've been using satin or silk pillowcases for about 5 years. I couldn't find a clean one the other day so I used a percale pillowcase. I had big creases on the side of my face for about an hour after I woke up! I've never had that happen with the satin or silk cases.

Honored Contributor

Not for me I am afraid my head would slip and slide around

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Trusted Contributor

I buy cheapo ones at ebay or Amazon and always use them. My hair is in better condition and my skin isn't half bad either. I don't know whether I can attribute it to the satin pillowcases but whatever, I'll take it! Smiley Happy

Respected Contributor

@Mz iMac wrote:

"I toss around a lot at night."

You would do better wearing a satin head rag at bedtime.

I move around a lot at night have tried MANY options - bonnets, satin-lined caps, buffs, etc -  I can never get one to consistently stay on through the night. One might stay on 3 out of 7 nights or none of them.

I have to use a three-pronged combination:

1. "Pineapple" ponytail (high pony on top of head)
  2. Buff drawn up over hair and tied at top
  3. A silk pillowcase as the backup when the buff falls off
Trusted Contributor

Yes, they work for me. Been using them since the 90s for prevention of lines from sleeping on my side. Work great for keeping hair from damage from tossing and turning. Currently using the copper one from Consult Beaute.

Originally joined board 12-14-2004
Esteemed Contributor