Frequent Contributor

SPF eye cream/ moisturizer recommendations?

I need a SPF eye cream recommendation. One that is specific for the eyes.

I tried to use my face spf  moisturizer and my eyes burned and got all watery.

Thanks

Respected Contributor

Re: SPF eye cream/ moisturizer recommendations?

Your face SPF might have chemical sunscreen ingredients in it, rather than mineral ingredients. I can't have chemical sunscreen anywhere near my eyes because it'll make them sting and water. I can put mineral sunscreen on or around my eyes (and not necessarily one made just for the eye area) and my eyes are fine. HTH

Contributor

I like It Cosmetics CC Eye Color Correcting Full Coverage Cream 50+ spf over Hope in a Tube by Philosophy.  I have been using Hope in a Tube for 15+ years and I have very few lines around my eyes.  It is the most emollient eye cream I have found.  The second best eye cream I have found that works great is Kiehl's Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado.  

On a daily basis I wear Bare Minerals Prep Step Mineral Shield SPF 50 Daily Prep Lotion over my skincare and it also seems to work fine around my eyes without stinging or irritation.  I have very sensitive skin.  I use it over Hope in a Tube also.  It's a very lightweight SFP and a wonderful primer.

Honored Contributor

@anonymous23. I've always found it difficult to find an eye cream I liked w/ SPF. My derm recommended Neutrogena Dry Touch SPF 30  because it's waterproof.  It's just creamy enough to spread easily on face, neck & chest. Since waterproof, I do use it under my eyes, too. Let it settle in for about 5 minutes (I put my serum on first).

Then I use my BB moisturizer for face and BB Hydrating Eye Cream. This eye cream is not runny, but moisturizing enough to use concealer over w/o any settling into lines. Since the SPF in underneath, no need for separate special one for under eyes. I've never experienced watering or burning eyes with this combination.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]