Highlighted
Respected Contributor

Re: Retinol - What Am I Missing?

On 9/7/2014 AspenGrove said:

When I visited a derm for the first time about 14 years ago (I'm 55 now), I was so tired of using layers of lotions and potions that did nothing. I had tried OTC retinol and it irritated my skin terribly. Derm told me that for many, retinol is highly irritating because of the other ingredients they add. The more powerful and effective Retin-A, she explained, is much less irritating, if used correctly. She started me on a Retin-A cream in a moisturizing base (Renova).

Because I followed her specific instructions, I never had any irritation. I slowly worked up to using it nightly, which I've been doing for about 14 years now. Best thing I ever did! The Retin-A completely changed my skin so that I no longer spend tons of time and money on things that never lived up to the hype. My routine is so simple and amazingly effective. I'm thrilled that I sought medical advice years ago to learn what really works and what is total marketing hype. You might want to visit a derm to learn what's best for your skin also.

ITA. Visit a reputable dermatologist. Retinols work by removing/slothing the upper layers of dead skin. They R irritating & you need to get the right product for your skin type. The best products,(retinol), meaning those that work, are prescription. Expensive, yes. Go get a consult. You'll be saving $$ in the long runSmiley Happy

Super Contributor

I get a script from my Derm. Some insurance will cover it. I get the generic Tretonoin cream for $5. A tube will last 4 mths. Even if insurance won't cover it, and it's $200, it's $50 a month, that's still less than what we've paid for some creams. For the past 7 yrs I've only used Vit C & sunscreen in the morning & Retin A at night with a simple moisturizer like Ponds if needed. It's been great for my skin, a simple routine, great results. I'm 53 Smiley Happy
Super Contributor