Occasional Contributor

Request recommendations for nail polishing

Hello to all and Merry CHRISTmas! I never take the time to polish my fingernails, but now have the urge to do so. I would appreciate any recommendations for base and top coats. I feel as though I have decent nails and worry about harming and discoloring them if I begin to polish them randomly. I do polish my toenails in the spring and summer, but give them a break in the winter. Thank you in advance for your assistance. May God bless each of you! 

Valued Contributor

Re: Request recommendations for nail polishing

[ Edited ]

@luckywife, I'm no expert on nails either, but one item I found that I really love is this one:

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat.  It is made to penetrate through to the base coat, bonded the various layers of polish together strongly, adding a shine as the top coat, and preventing chips in the polish so it wears longer.  I don't do my nails without it, any more.  You can research it on sites such as amazon to see what customers say about it.  

Happy Holidays!

SerenityNow!
"Be as a bird perched on a frail branch that she feels bending beneath her; still she sings away all the same, knowing she has wings." ~Victor Hugo
Frequent Contributor

My favorite drugstore base/top coat combo is Sally Hansen Diamond Shine. It works really well. I applied this under and over my current polish on 12/13 and it now starting to show signs of extreme chipping. Not bad for a drugstore brand. Also I use OPI polishes exclusively, so I do use good polish to begin with.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]