Esteemed Contributor

I have been using Retin A for a couple years now.  I figure better late than never, but I wish I would have started using it years ago.

Anyway, my question is this:  are you suppose to put anything under or over it?  I have been a purist and only applied RA (after waiting 15 to 20 minutes) with nothing else.  I am curious if it diminishes any of the benefits to add anything else.  I would love to seal it in with an oil or some other face product.

Can anyone offer a bit of guidance?  TIA

Fear not Brothers and Sisters! I have read THE BOOK..........we win!!!
Honored Contributor

@tends2dogs wrote:

I have been using Retin A for a couple years now.  I figure better late than never, but I wish I would have started using it years ago.

Anyway, my question is this:  are you suppose to put anything under or over it?  I have been a purist and only applied RA (after waiting 15 to 20 minutes) with nothing else.  I am curious if it diminishes any of the benefits to add anything else.  I would love to seal it in with an oil or some other face product.

Can anyone offer a bit of guidance?  TIA

Yes, @tends2dogs.  I do my regular PM routine (makeup removal, cleanse, serum, moisturizer) sometime after dinner and before 8:00PM.  At bedtime, a few nights a week, I apply the RetinA and a lip mask. 

I decided to to the moisturizer in the evening and RetinA at bedtime after reading an article that included an opinion from a dermatologist and that was her routine.  I wish I could remember her name, to look it up again.  All I remember is that her last name started with a B

Honored Contributor

I don't know who the dermatologist was, but on a segment of Kelly & Ryan she said that applying petroleum jelly over Retin-A enhanced it.  She didn't explain further, but I did that during the winter.  I can't handle it in summer though.

Esteemed Contributor