Highlighted
Respected Contributor

Question about Timeless Vitamin C Serum

I have been using this for a couple years.  I heard about it and it sure is less expensive than some other brands.

A question just occurred to me though.  The Timeless serum is clearish, watery, with a slight alcohol scent to me.

I have used Skinceuticals and Drunk Elephant brands too.  Theirs are the same with the scent of hot dogs, bacon, and sticky.

I prefer the Timeless, but am I really getting the same thing?

Hyacinth

Contributor

Re: Question about Timeless Vitamin C Serum

I've been using timeless vitamin c for several years and have had great results. What I notice is that it gets that hotdog smell when the bottle gets older and towards the end of the bottle. 

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

FYI...that  "hot dog" smell comes from ferulic acid. Nice, huh? Woman LOL

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

I've read that about the "hotdog" smell before too, @SilleeMee.  @hyacinth003 - you would have to do an ingredient deck comparison to see if they were exact.  Just because they both say "Vitamin C w/Ferulic Acid" doesn't ensure each is using the same amounts of the key ingredients.  But even if one contains lesser amounts than another, they both can still be called the same thing.  And even if the labels are identical, you won't know the sources of the ingredients so individual quality may or may not impact the finished product.  Stuff that's commercially manufactured has a recipe that has to be followed, as it is tested by quality control and batches are identified and documented just in case there's any public problem, they can trace back to the batch and even sources of ingredients within said batch.  Something like Timeless might be a very good product, but when made in smaller batches by a private source they don't have to follow as strict a process so you never know if they're fudging the recipe a little here or there.  JMO 

Respected Contributor