Trusted Contributor

Paula's Choice Clinical 1% Retinol vs. Retin-A

How does the strength of Paula's Choice Clinical 1% Retinol compare to prescription Retin-A?

I've been using Paula's Choice Clinical Retinol for a few months now and I like it.  I've never used Retin-A before, but am curious about it.  

*QVC Community member since 10/24/2006*
Honored Contributor

Re: Paula's Choice Clinical 1% Retinol vs. Retin-A

@Stargazer77 wrote:

How does the strength of Paula's Choice Clinical 1% Retinol compare to prescription Retin-A?

I've been using Paula's Choice Clinical Retinol for a few months now and I like it.  I've never used Retin-A before, but am curious about it.  

@Stargazer77  No matter the brand of retinol, it is always going to be weaker than Retin-A.  The further down an ingredient list, the less of it there is in a preparation. Some things have it so low on the list I wonder why they even bothered to include it.  Retinol and Retin-A are both in the retinoids family. However, that doesn’t make the equal players. The skin receives both in the form of retinoic acid.  Retin-A is already retinoic acid on its own.  Retinol has to go through some conversion steps to become retinoic acid but it becomes weaker with each step.  Retin-A is far stronger and one’s use needs to be carefully eased into, to help stave off any initial over drying, irritation, and peeling/flaking skin. Both will make your skin sensitive to the sun so it’s always best to use retinoids at night but still use sunscreen during the day. 

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

Most 1% retinol products will affect your skin similar to using a 0.025% Retin-A.  Retinol takes longer to work than Retin-A  because of the conversion factor*.  Both retinol and Retin-A act on the same skin (retinoid) receptors found within the skin (alpha, beta and gamma).